Use code TAKE3 — pay only $25. Ends in:
--days : --hrs : --min : --sec

Texas defensive drivingSpeeding ticket guideInsurance discount

Does Defensive Driving Lower Your Insurance in Texas? The Honest Answer

Often yes — but it's your insurer's choice, and anyone promising you a guaranteed 10% is quoting a law that died twenty years ago. The Texas Department of Insurance puts it this way: "Companies often offer discounts for completing a defensive driving or driver education course. Each company sets its own discount terms." That one sentence is the real rule, and everything below is the practical detail around it.

The "mandatory 10%" myth — where it came from, why it's dead

You'll find pages all over the internet — some on course-provider sites — saying Texas insurers must give a 10% defensive-driving discount for three years. That was once true: under Texas's old benchmark rating system, the Consumer Bill of Rights required it. But the Legislature moved auto insurance to a "file and use" system in 2003 (S.B. 14), the benchmark era ended in 2004, and with it went the mandate. Today every insurer files its own rates and decides its own discounts — including whether to offer this one at all.

Why we lead with this: a page still promising the mandatory 10% is telling you its information predates 2004. (It's the same tell as a site promising to "remove points" — Texas hasn't had points since 2019.) The discount is real at many insurers; the guarantee is not.

The condition nobody mentions: your age

Read enough pages about defensive-driving discounts and you'll come away thinking the only question is whether you take the course. It isn't. Several of the largest insurers in Texas gate this discount on age — Farmers publishes "over age 55," Nationwide notes "you may have to be 55 or over," and GEICO requires you to be at least 50. If you're 30 with a clean record, the discount a course-provider ad promised you may not exist on your policy at all.

So we went and read what each insurer actually publishes, quoted it word for word, and linked the source. Where an insurer publishes nothing, this table says so rather than inventing a number.

InsurerAge conditionPublished amountCourt-ordered course
GEICOAt least 50 years oldUp to 10% on applicable coveragesExcluded
State FarmNone publishedNot publishedNot stated
ProgressiveNone publishedNot publishedNot stated
AllstateNone publishedNot publishedNot stated
FarmersOver 55Not publishedNot stated
NationwideMay require 55 or overNot publishedNot stated
Liberty MutualNone publishedNot publishedNot stated
USAANone publishedNot publishedNot stated

Read from each insurer's own website on September 4, 2026. Road Ready Safety is not affiliated with or endorsed by any insurer listed. Terms are set by the insurer and change without notice — each page links the source so you can check it yourself.

What it's worth, on your own numbers

Most "savings calculators" in this category exist to produce a big number. This one asks you for the assumptions and does the arithmetic in front of you, because the honest answer depends entirely on figures only you and your insurer have.

What is this actually worth to you?

Your numbers, your assumptions. We do not guess your discount — no one honestly can.

This is arithmetic on the figures you entered, not a quote or a prediction. Texas does not require insurers to offer a defensive-driving discount, and your insurer sets its own terms.

How to claim it — four questions, then the course

  1. "Do you offer a defensive driving discount, and how much?" Get the number, and which coverages it applies to.
  2. "How long does it last, and when do I have to renew the course?" Three years is common; confirm yours.
  3. "What documentation do you need?" Usually the certificate's insurance copy — there's no state-prescribed process, so the insurer decides.
  4. "Does the course need to be TDLR-approved?" Most Texas insurers expect the standard 6-hour TDLR-approved course — the same one used for ticket dismissal. (Verify any provider's approval in our TDLR provider directory.)

Then enroll, complete the 6 hours, and send your insurer the insurance copy of your certificate. With our course the certificate — court copy and insurance copy — downloads instantly when you finish.

No ticket required — and ticket-takers get both benefits

TDLR recognizes the same 6-hour course for "ticket dismissal or insurance discounts" — you don't need a citation or a court's permission to take it voluntarily. If you are dismissing a ticket, the same completion can sometimes do double duty: court copy to the court, insurance copy to your agent. Sometimes, not always — GEICO excludes court-ordered courses in writing, and most other insurers don't publish a position. Ask rather than assume; and remember the dismissal is the larger prize either way, since a conviction rates your premium for about three years. That's also the consolation path for drivers who can't use the course on their ticket — CDL holders, 25-over citations, or a second ticket inside 12 months: the dismissal door may be closed, but the discount door isn't.

2:26
▶ Watch on YouTube A $200 Texas Speeding Ticket Can Cost You $1,000+ — Here's Why What a conviction costs in premium over three years.

Frequently asked questions

Does defensive driving lower your car insurance in Texas?

Often, but it's the insurer's choice, not a state mandate. The Texas Department of Insurance says it plainly: "Companies often offer discounts for completing a defensive driving or driver education course. Each company sets its own discount terms." Industry-typical discounts run a few percent and commonly last around three years — but the only number that matters is the one your insurer quotes you.

Isn't Texas insurance required to give a 10% defensive driving discount?

Not anymore — and most sites that say so are citing dead law. The mandatory 10% discount belonged to Texas's old benchmark-rate system, which ended when the state moved to "file and use" rating in 2003–2004. Under current law each insurer files its own rates and sets its own discounts. If a page promises you a guaranteed 10%, it hasn't been updated in twenty years.

Can I take the course just for the insurance discount, without a ticket?

Yes. TDLR explicitly recognizes the 6-hour driving safety course for "ticket dismissal or insurance discounts" — same course, no citation required, no court involvement. You enroll, complete it, and send the certificate to your insurer.

How do I actually claim the discount?

Ask your agent before enrolling — confirm the insurer offers a defensive-driving discount, how much, how long it lasts, and what documentation they want. Then complete the course and submit your certificate's insurance copy. There's no state-prescribed process; the insurer decides the paperwork.

Does a course taken to dismiss a ticket also earn the discount?

Sometimes — but not always, and one major insurer says no in print. GEICO requires the course to be completed "on a voluntary basis (not as a result of an order of a court or other governmental entity)," which excludes a course you took because a court granted your dismissal request. Other insurers do not publish a position either way. Your certificate does carry both a court copy and an insurance copy, so it costs nothing to ask — just do not assume both benefits before you have.

Is there an age requirement for the defensive driving discount in Texas?

At several major insurers, yes, and it is the condition drivers get caught by most. Farmers publishes "over age 55"; Nationwide notes "you may have to be 55 or over"; GEICO requires you to be at least 50. Others publish no age condition, which is not the same as having none. Ask your own insurer before you spend six hours.

Which Texas insurers actually publish their defensive driving discount terms?

Very few publish a number. GEICO publishes "up to 10% on applicable coverages" plus its age and voluntary-basis conditions. Farmers and Nationwide publish age conditions but no percentage. State Farm, Allstate, Progressive, Liberty Mutual and USAA confirm a course-based discount exists in some form but leave the terms to an agent. We quote each one word-for-word on its own page rather than filling the gaps with averages.

Can a CDL holder or someone with an ineligible ticket still get the discount?

Yes — the discount path has nothing to do with court eligibility. CDL holders, drivers cited 25+ mph over, and drivers inside the 12-month rule can all take the course voluntarily; it just can't dismiss their ticket. Whether the discount applies is still the insurer's call.

Six hours, two possible payoffs

Confirm the discount with your agent first — we'd rather you spend five minutes on the phone than six hours on a maybe. When it checks out, our TDLR-approved course (CP1234) is $28 all-in, online, with the insurance copy of your certificate included in the free instant download.

Road Ready Safety is a TDLR-licensed Texas driving safety provider (CP#1234). This page is informational, not insurance advice — discount availability, size, and terms are determined solely by your insurer.

Last updated September 4, 2026 — verified by the Road Ready Safety editorial team against current Texas Department of Insurance consumer guidance, the S.B. 14 (2003) file-and-use transition, and TDLR course-use guidance. Typical discount ranges are industry practice, not state requirements.